Jose Pacheco (Pepe)

JosePachecoAge: 46 
Wife: Maria Pacheco 
How long have you been married? 16 years 
Children and grandchildren (if applicable): We have four children, two boys and two girls, and one granddaughter so far 
Home Parish: St. Mary in Montrose 
Favorite Saint: St. Francis of Assisi 
Favorite Type of Prayer: My favorite type of prayer is silent prayer, and especially in connection with nature. 
Favorite Scripture Passage: There are many passages in the Bible that I like and it’s hard to choose one in particular, however, many times I identify myself with Luke 15:11, the Prodigal Son.

Briefly, describe your journey to this point:

I was raised in a Catholic school from about the age of five until I was 15 years old. Originally from Mexico, I came to the US when I was 16. I never gave up the faith that was instilled in my heart from my childhood, instead, it became crucial in my life. Soon I found a family in my local parish, in which I became part of, in the town of Montrose where I met my wife, Maria. I have lived in Montrose for 30 years and been active in my parish for nearly 25 years. I started with the choir, became the leader of that ministry for many years; I got involved in many formation programs. I have participated in liturgical ministries, jail ministry and some other social justice activities. I was part of our parish council for some time and served as a member of the Diocesan Pastoral Council for two terms. For many years I participated as a catechist, teaching in formation programs, and preach in retreats. I was also involved with the Hispanic Ministry of the diocese for one year before I joined the diaconate program. Finally, during the last four and a half years I have been in the deacon formation program with our diocese. I am very exited and looking forward to continuing in my journey, always looking to fallow God’s plans for my life in the best of my understanding. 

How did you know God was calling you to the diaconate?

At first, it happened through clergy that got me involved in church matters, including my pastor, but then as I started to discover what the diaconate was, I really felt attracted to the ministry, in which I was already involved in some forms. It does take lots of praying and discernment, but it is through these two things that I discovered my vocation. Now I feel that my being will be complete when I receive this order. However, my responsibility as God’s servant will always be part of my life.

What are you most looking forward to? 
First of all, I am looking forward to work through the Bishop’s vision and plans for our diocese, and with my pastor in whatever the needs of our local parish are. I am part of a bicultural parish to which I am assigned, and I’m very excited to do some ministering with both, the Anglo and the Hispanic communities, after all - we are all one, and although many times we face challenges, those challenges can help us mature and to become better Christians.

How has your wife helped you in the formation process? 
My wife took the formation program with me, in the best way she could; this was not a goal or a challenge set just for me with her as my help or support. My wife had to sacrifice time and many important things, for us to follow and accomplish what God had called us to do. She would not be ordained but she would always share in the ministry of the diaconate because we are one through our marriage. Everything I do affects her, our marriage, and our family in the same way that everything she does affects me, and the ministry that I will perform as an ordained minister. This is a ministry in which we mutually help each other as we walk in our journey.